Google+ Expands Hangouts on Air to Everyone [Video]

The Google+ Hangout feature is one of the main selling points for the burgeoning social network.  By easily allowing people to start a multi-person video chat from any thread within Google+, users are able to finally realize a convenient way to quickly get on a chat with a certain group of their friends around a certain topic.

Google enhanced the Hangouts service last year when they introduced Hangouts on Air to a limited group of popular users.  The service allows a person to hold a Google+ Hangout to a group of their friends and have the video available live to the web at large.

Google has now released this feature to the masses.  Anybody with a Google+ account is now availble to talk with a global audience.  The key features of the service are being able to broadcast publicly, check how many viewers are watching your stream and record the whole thing and re-share after the fact.  It’s as simple as checking a box when you’re creating your Hangout and ta-dah: the Hangout is now a public broadcast.

Google has launched a highlight video showing a few examples of how the new feature could be used.  Birthday parties, scuba divers, dancers and musicians all have a cool new way to get their stuff out there.  Check it out and let us know what you think.

Also, check out some of the cool Hangouts coming up soon in the list below:

CBS This Morning: May 8th at 4:20am PT / 7:20am ET Cadbury UK: May 11th at 1:30pm PT / 4:30pm ET
Conan O’Brien: May 8th at 7:30pm PT / 10:30pm ET The Nerdist: May 11th at 3:00pm PT / 6:00pm ET
CNBC: May 10th at 1:15pm PT / 4:15pm ET Jamie Oliver on Food Revolution Day: May 19th at 5:00pm PT / 8:00pm ET
Global Poverty Project: May 10th at 4:00pm PT / 7:00pm ET - A special series from The New York Times’ Opinion department

 

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Online Marketing

Online MarketingStarting November 4, learn how to launch a successful digital marketing campaign for your brand! In this course, you'll learn how to create an online marketing strategy, identify the appropriate distribution platforms, and use the web to successfully deliver your brand's message. Register now!