Google+ Flags Users’ Coworkers in Bid for Enterprise Use

google+, social networksGoogle+ is launching a new feature that will let users know if they are connecting with another user who works for the same company, Google said today.

If a user views the profile of a coworker and hovers over the person’s name, the company’s URL will appear beneath the name to confirm that the profile belongs to the user’s coworker.

The feature shows Google, which has long sought to leverage Circles to differentiate Google+ from Facebook, positioning its social platform to play the role of in-house social network that Yammer currently dominates. Businesses often want to facilitate in-office collaboration using social tools, but often worry about trade secrets being revealed inadvertently. The new feature attempts to balance those needs.

Once coworkers are connected on the network, they can create a Circle and use it to communicate about shared projects.

To further ensure accurate identification of coworkers, their websites will only be displayed if the business in question has a Google Apps for Enterprise account to which the user has access.

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Content Marketing 101

Content Marketing 101Get hands-on content marketing training in our brand new boot camp, Content Marketing 101! Starting September 8, digital marketing and content experts will teach you the tips and tricks for creating, distributing and measuring the success of your brand's content. Register now!