Google+ Rolls Out “Find My Face” — Will You Opt In?

After announcing details of the program last week, Google Plus is slowly rolling out their new “Find My Face” feature to G+ users.  The new service will automatically send a Google robot to your front door to determine whether your face is still on your head — just kidding.  The service will look at your photos and detect the features of your face, and then whenever your contacts upload a photo with you in it, Google Plus will suggest that you be tagged.

Unlike Facebook’s version of the feature, Google has chosen to keep the service totally opt-in, which is certainly a positive step.  It underscores Google’s opportunity to navigate around the choppy waters of user privacy concerns — Google just simply has to learn from Facebook’s mistakes.

That said, Google’s “Photo Tag Suggest” is a activated by default, and that means when you upload a photo, Google will still scan the faces and compare it to all of your contacts who’ve opted in to let their faces be auto-detected.

Image: olly via Shutterstock

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Social Media 201

Social Media 201Starting October 13Social Media 201 picks up where Social Media 101 left off, to provide you with hands-on instruction for gaining likes, followers, retweets, favorites, pins, and engagement. Social media experts will teach you how to make social media marketing work for your bottom line and achieving your business goals. Register now!