Hi WebNewser readers - we're now a part of mediabistro's SocialTimes.com, bringing you breaking news, guides & tips from the Web world.

The 2010 Webbys: Fun in Five Words or Less


Last night the famous and the web-famous gathered at Cipriani Wall St. for the 2010 Webby Awards, honoring the best in new media.

WebNewser was there, and was tweeting the whole night. In case you weren’t following our witty tweeting of the night’s events, here is what happened:

The awards kicked off with an “I Love the 90′s” style montage reviweing the year in viral videos. From the two-year-old smoker to Fox 5 anchor Ernie Anastos “Keep f*ckin that chicken,” the Webbys had the best videos covered.

The night featured dozens of awards to companies and individuals. As always, winners were limited to a strict five-word acceptance speech.

In our opinion, the biggest winner of the night was former Apollo astronaut and the second man on the moon, Buzz Aldrin. WebNewser spoke to Aldrin at the Webby cocktail hour, where he showed off his Buzz Aldrin iPhone app. Aldrin, who turned 80 in January, was still showing off his app and mingling with the crowd at the Webby after-party hours later.

At the awards themselves, Aldrin received the biggest ovation of anyone as he accepted for NASA. He continued to push for manned exploration of the galaxy in his speech: “Humanity. Colonization. Phobos. Monolith. Mars!”

Throughout the night special achievement awards were presented, with celebrities serving as guest presenters.

EbertWebbys061510.jpg For the special achievement awards, Jason Bateman and Will Arnett honored actress (and Arnett’s wife) Amy Poehler for “best actress”, While Zach Galifianakis won for “best actor.” Also receiving special achievement awards were film critic Roger Ebert, who was presented the “Webby person of the year,” award by last year’s winner Jimmy Fallon. ChatRoulette won for “breakout of the year,” and was honored by Ben Folds, who performed a live ChatRoulette-style performance. Musical group OK Go for “film & video artist of the year,” while the PS22 chorus won for “Webby artist of the year,” and proceeded to serenade the crowd with a rendition of “We Just Can’t Stop.” And finally Vinton Cerf, who received the “Webby lifetime achievement” award.

FoldsWebbys061510.jpg Rather than review every single one of the dozens of acceptance speeches that were delivered, we will simply share the ones that garnered the best reaction from the crowd.

Among the special achievement winners, Galifianakis cracked everyone up with his: “How am I on time?” before adding “Aw sh*t!”

OK Go went political: “Fight for net neutrality now.”

Ebert only needed three words, delivered via a computer voice: “Veni vidi vici.”

Cerf ended the night with a fitting speech: “You ain’t seen nothing yet.”

Among the other winners, there were a few standout speeches:

For tourism, Snapshots of Provence: “Finally, the french win something.”

For insurance, Aflac, which had Gilbert Godfried, the voice of the Aflac duck, accepting: “Who needs five words: AFLAAAAC.”

Arianna Huffington, accepting for the Huffington Post: “Goldman Sachs shorted my speech.”

Robert Scheer, accepting for best pontifical blog: “Wall Street. what f*cking thieves.”

The “Auto-Tune the News” team, who sang their speech: “Everything sounds better auto-tuned.”

And Jake from CollegeHumor.com’s “Jake and Amir,” who changed his speech when he realized who he was standing next to offstage: “Holy f*cking sh*t, Buzz Aldrin!”

Yes, there was a lot of cursing last night. But it is the internet, after all.

The full list of winners is here. And check out video from the event on the official Webby YouTube page here.

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Email Marketing

Email MarketingStarting January 12, learn how to create campaigns that engage subscribers, increase awareness, and drive traffic and sales! In this course, you'll learn how to create effective email campaigns to meet your company's goals and objectives, develop copywriting and design techniques, create and manage distribution lists, and more! Register now!