The bury button has returned to Digg, giving users of the content-sharing site the ability to hide stories that they feel are inappropriate. User-interface developer Jamie Lottering posted on the Digg Blog:
I am happy to announce that we’ve made a few changes to our story list design, including bringing back the bury button.
When burying a story, the story will remain visible with the “Buried” label on top of it. Simply hover over the story and the label will hide so that you can continue interacting with the story. Note, you can still save or comment on stories that you’ve buried, but you can’t Digg something once you’ve buried it so make sure you use some discretion when burying. We’ve also removed the “Report” link from permalink pages. This was intentional, as burying a story also flags the story for review so our team can remove content that violates our terms of service.
In addition to burying, we’ve made some other improvements to stories. The submitter name is now visible next to the comment count; hover over the submitter name for a moment and a tooltip will appear so that you can follow them without having to leave the page. You are also now able to leave a comment right on the story itself without having to load the comments page. Simply click the pencil icon next to the comment count to open the comment field and speak your peace.