YouTube Lets You Use Google+ As Your Profile

YouTube has many elements that constitute a social network. User profiles, messaging, a ‘wall’ and the ability to post content to one another’s profiles. Sadly, it doesn’t have FarmVille. Google has been improving YouTube with incremental changes to their channel service for years, and now they’re integrating with Google+ to provide more identity to your YouTube account. There are a few details to the new feature, so read on to find out what they are.

As a YouTube user, you’ll now be able to link to your Google+ profile and have that profile appear to users who view your profile and videos. This would replace whatever username you had given yourself before, like iluvapples123 or bieberfanhater666. Google has predicted that not everyone wants their Google+ profile associated with some of the past comments you may have left as an anonymous YouTube user, so after you update the profile you get the choice to “Review my content”. This allows you to disassociate your profile from previous activity if you want to.

This is not a mandatory change, so users do not have to update their usernames at all. The next time you login to YouTube, you’ll be asked if you want to update your profile. Just say no and be on your way as usual, to make nasty comments on tween videos and upload videos of your amateur Jackass stunts.

Read more at the YouTube blog.

Related Stories
Mediabistro Course

Online Marketing

Online MarketingStarting November 4, learn how to launch a successful digital marketing campaign for your brand! In this course, you'll learn how to create an online marketing strategy, identify the appropriate distribution platforms, and use the web to successfully deliver your brand's message. Register now!